Search WWW Search
The World of Jack London

Jack London Foundation

Jack London Woman of the Year
~ Tarnel Abbott ~

Photo of several past honorees
Tarnel Abbott

One of Jack London's great-granddaughters, her grandmother being Joan London, Tarnel Abbott is a graduate of U.C. Berkeley, receiving her Masters Degree in Library and Information Science. Ms. Abbott has written, performed, and lectured about her famous great-grandfather, including an article in the Jack London Foundation Newsletter, a talk and slideshow on Flora Wellman at the 2011 Jack London Symposium in Santa Rosa, a multimedia performance at the 2012 Ankara (Turkey) International Theater Festival, and a talk and slideshow on London's political themes at the 2012 Fresno County Library Big Read. She participates in the Jack London Society's online discussion forum and continues her independent research on Jack London. She also helped Utah State University add to its Jack London collection. In the Jack London tradition, she pursues the topics of her time from a progressive perspective and is an unfaltering environmental, free speech, and political activist.

2014 Tarnel Abbott
2013 Joseph W. Lawrence
2012 Sue Hodson
2011 Earle Labor
2010 Carol Brookman
2009 Dick North
2008 Clarice Stasz
2007 David Schlottmann
2006 Daniel Wichlan
2005 Mike Wilson
2004 David Hartzell
2003 Winnie Kingman
2002 Harry Cook
2001 George Fox
2000 Russ Kingman
1999 Bob Van
1998 Milo Shepard
1997 Dan Dyer
1996 Susan Nuernberg
1995 Jeanne Campbell-Reeseman
1994 James Banks
1993 David Rejl
1992 Takaharu Mori
1991 Robert Fritschi
1990 Tony Williams
1989 Jacqueline Koenig
1988 Dale Walker
1987 Ron Anderson
1986 Eiji Tsuji
1985 Charles Watson
1984 (no award)
1983 Hensley Woodbridge
1982 Mike Bates
1981 Sal Noto
1980 Marlan Beilke
1979 David Michael Hamilton
1978 Dale Walker
1977 Richard Weiderman
1976 Franklin Walker
1975 Earle Labor
1974 Irving Shepard
Go Back
For Copyright and Terms of Service Instructions - click here